Timeline 2003
Timeline 2007
Timeline 2008
Timeline 2016
Timeline 2017
Timeline 2018

DHR Health's History of Firsts

DHR Health Opens Its Doors
DHR Health opens as the region's only physician-owned hospital, now one of the largest in the nation.
A New Era For Women's Health
The Women's Hospital at Renaissance opens as the only free-standing hospital dedicated exclusively to women's health needs.
New Options for Digestive Health
DHR Health is the first hospital in the Rio Grande Valley to provide endoscopic ultrasound.
Putting Patient Safety First
DHR Health becomes the first hospital in the Rio Grande Valley to tap into a technology that uses pulsed xenon ultraviolet light to quickly destroy bacteria, viruses, mold and even the most dangerous pathogens.
Award-Winning Surgical Care
DHR Health is the first hospital system in Texas to become an Accredited Hernia Surgery Center of Excellence by the Surgical Review Corporation. DHR health is the only accredited COEHS center in Texas.
Bringing New Hope to the RGV
DHR becomes the Rio Grande Valley's only hospital certified by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid for Adult Kidney Transplant.
  • 2003
  • 2007
  • 2008
  • 2016
  • 2017
  • 2018
Teddy Bear
Commited to Excellence

Every patient, every encounter, every time.

Our Mission

Our MISSION is to improve the well-being of those we serve with a commitment to excellence: every patient, every encounter, every time.

Our Vision

Our VISION is to create a world-class health system to advance medicine and increase access for the communities we serve by empowering caregivers to heal through compassion, knowledge, innovation, integrated care and excellence.

Our Values

C - Commitment
A - Accountability
R - Respect
E - Excellence
S - Service

Our Trusted

Board of Managers

Almeda Board

Dr. Jose L. Almeda

General Surgery
Wady Aude

Dr. Wady Aude

Cantu Board

Alonzo Cantu

Non-Physician Member
Cardenas Board

Dr. Carlos Cardenas

Juan M. Chavez Pas

Dr. Juan Chavez-Paz

Cortinas Board

Dr. Javier Cortinas

Emergency Medicine
Roberto Cruz

Dr. Roberto A. Cruz

Mauricio De La Garza

Dr. Mauricio De la Garza

Reconstructive Surgery/Plastics
Deanda Board

David Deanda

Non-Physician Member
Dentino Board

Dr. Andrew Dentino

Past Chief of Staff
Nancy Garcia

Nancy Garcia

Chief Nursing Executive and Sr. Executive Vice President of Service Line Development
Gelman Board

Dr. Lawrence Gelman

Delisa Guadarrama

Dr. Delissa Guadarrama

Felipe Gutierrez

Dr. Felipe Gutierrez

Family Practice
Haddad Board

Dr. Victor Haddad

General Surgery
Hernandez Board

Dr. Ambrosio Hernandez

Chief Medical Compliance Officer
Henry Herrera

Dr. Henry Herrera

Kenhere Board

Dr. Gauri Kenhere

Starr County Internal Medicine
Gholam Kiani

Dr. Gholam Kiani

Levine Board

Dr. Lyuba Levine

Chief of Staff
Ricardo Martinez Board

Dr. Ricardo Martinez

General Surgery
Medina Board

Dr. Bertha Medina

Family Medicine
Ruben Mohme

Dr. Ruben Mohme

Montes Board

Dr. Jorge Montes

Olgin Board

Dr. Gaudencio Olgin

Owen Board

Dr. Kip Owen

Palacios Board

Esteban Palacios, PA

Allied Health
Physician Placeholder

Dr. Luis H. Robles

Family Medicine (Brownsville)
Physician Placeholder

Dr. Carlos Rosas

Family Medicine (Brownsville)
Safir Board

Larry Safir

Non-Physician Member
Salazar Board

Dr. Juan Salazar

Primary Care
Veeramachenan Board

Dr. Ravindra Veeramachenan

Lab Services
Viswamitra Board

Dr. Saroja Viswamitra

Chief Medical Officer